Go to ...

RSS Feed

Turn Off the “Get Even More Out of Windows” Screen


If you’re anything like me, you’ve got definite ideas about how, when and why to set up Windows 10. But the OS — or perhaps the MS engineers behind it — have some ideas about this, too. That’s why you see a screen like this following a clean install, after a feature upgrade, and at various times afterward if you don’t turn it off yourself. Personally, I always click “Skip for now.” I also find it annoying that MS has decided to drive users through these steps by default (notice the “Let’s go” button is pre-selected). Thus, I’m delighted to learn from Martin Brinkmann at Ghacks.net that there are two relatively easy ways to turn this thing off.

But first, here’s a screen cap of what I’m talking about:

Turn Off the 'Get Even More Out of Windows' Screen in Win10.image

If you don’t turn this thing off, you will see it in Windows 10 at specific times, and occasionally forever afterward.
[Click image for full-sized view.]

Two Methods to Turn the Screen Off: Notifications and the Registry

You can get to this item via Settings → System → Notifications & actions, in the checkbox items at the head of the notifications section. Here’s what you’ll find there (with a minor highlight by way of annotation):get-even-more-out-of-windows.noti-chkboxes.png

Uncheck these two checkboxes to turn off the screen following clean installs and feature upgrades (lower item) and periodically thereafter (upper item).
[Click image for full-sized view.]

This approach is easy, fast and straightfoward, and worked fine for me on a machine-at-a-time basis.

Admins who want to build a canonical image for deployment can do this with some registry edit files. Brinkmann has a link to enable/disable .reg files to do just this. I’ll simply explain that one must edit a Registry key named

Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\UserProfileEngagement

It needs a Dword value named ScoobeSystemSettingEnabled defined within that key. Assigning a value of 0 turns the feature off (what you want to do). Assigning it a value of 1 turns it back on. Remember, after editing the Registry, you must restart the PC for the change to take effect.

Great tweak! Nochmals vielen Dank, Herr Brinkmann. (English: Thanks much again, Mr. Brinkmann.)

Author: Ed Tittel

Ed Tittel is a 30-plus-year computer industry veteran. He’s a Princeton and multiple University of Texas graduate who’s worked in IT since 1981 when he started his first programming job. Over the past three decades he’s also worked as a manager, technical evangelist, consultant, trainer, and an expert witness. See his professional bio for all the details.

Leave a Reply