Go to ...

RSS Feed

May 2019 Update Hits Release Preview


Earlier today, Brandon LeBlanc posted a release notice for the version of Windows 10 formerly known as 1903. Now, it’s called the May 2019 Update. The bits are available to the Release Preview ring. Looks like that’s what I’ve also got on my formerly Fast Ring, now Slow Ring, PC. It’s Build 18362.30. It ‘s described in Windows Update on my Release Preview PC as “Windows 10, version 1903 amd64 2019-04” as shown here:

May 2019 Update Hits Release Preview.WU

Here’s what WU says while I’m downloading the Release Preview to my Surface Pro 3.

Ready or Not, Here It Comes!

If you’re not already an Insider, you can sign up for Insider Preview builds to check it out. Might be worth downloading. Here’s what you’ll see from the Insider pane in Settings → Update & Security:

May 2019 Update Hits Release Preview.WIP

If you’re game you can sign up for this Insider Preview. Might be good for a newly-minted VM, at least.

Those who aren’t in a hurry to check out the latest Feature Upgrade can wait. It should start trickling out through normal Windows Update sometime in May. But if you want to get an earlier look, I’ve explained just how you can do that. Cheers!

Author: Ed Tittel

Ed Tittel is a 30-plus-year computer industry veteran. He’s a Princeton and multiple University of Texas graduate who’s worked in IT since 1981 when he started his first programming job. Over the past three decades he’s also worked as a manager, technical evangelist, consultant, trainer, and an expert witness. See his professional bio for all the details.

3 Responses “May 2019 Update Hits Release Preview”

  1. April 11, 2019 at 15:33

    Yeah, got it on both Release Preview virtual machines.

  2. April 11, 2019 at 15:37

    I’ve got it running on 3 machines right now. I had one Release Preview set up earlier, but I demoted my 2 Fast Ring test machines (Lenovo X220 Tablet and Gregory’s desktop Asrock Z97 Fatal1ty Killer) to Release Preview as well.
    –Ed–

    • April 11, 2019 at 15:44

      On my physical machines, I have yesterday’s Insider build 18875. I only run GA and Release Preview builds on virtual machines.

Leave a Reply